A cure for zucchini fatigue (take 2)

IMG_1392Last year we brought you Chocolate-Zucchini Cake. (Yes, seriously.) This year, we bring you Zucchini Butter, compliments of the geniuses at the cooking/eating blog Food52.

It’s an astoundingly simple recipe with as few as three ingredients (my version had five), and done in about 20 minutes.

First, I chopped some shallot (one small) and garlic (one large clove, more next time) and added them to a large skillet with some olive oil and butter. (To simplify, you could choose one or the other.)

Then, I washed and grated a zucchini slightly smaller than a softball bat–including the skin and seeds. I put the grated zuke in a linen kitchen towel and squeezed out as much liquid as possible.

The zucchini went into the skillet with the butter and aromatics.

IMG_1384I kept it cooking on medium heat, stirring frequently. When the zucchini started to stick to the bottom once, I loosened it with a bit of water and the spoon. After 15 minutes, it had taken on a silky and spreadable consistency. I added a bit of salt and spooned it into a bowl.

IMG_1388A lot of it went into a jar that might go into the freezer for future use. (We’ll see about that.)

But first, an open-faced sandwich in which the zucchini butter was spooned over a piece of toast broiled with fresh ricotta.

DSC_9437According to the comment stream following this recipe on Food52, this substance can easily be a pasta sauce, a pizza topping, or a side dish on its own, and it can be frozen for winter use.

Next time I make it, I’ll add a bit of thyme or basil. And the sandwich (or pizza) would be even more terrific with some fresh parmesan or aged gouda shaved on top.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A cure for zucchini fatigue (take 2)

  1. Yummy photos again! Glad I’m viewing them AFTER lunch.

  2. harrismb says:

    Sounds really good .. Am owing to try it and didn’t know abt food 52 whick I am also loving… On my way to harvest lots of kale to make pest.. Am going to forward u a bunch of photos that show the one bale of hay with the gourds.. It goes completely across the width if the garden.. Hope u can make out photos.. Xom

    Sent from iPad

Leave a comment